top of page

April 2024 — Gregg Hill Releases His New Book of Jazz Tunes!

Gregg's latest Book "The Speckled Frog" was just released with 29 new jazz compositions.

The Speckled Frog continues in the musical spirit of the two preceding books of tunes, Moonducks and The Tuning Fork. The first two books, Outrospectives and Spontaneity, contained many tunes that were complex and sometimes technically challenging. The current material leans more to openness and accessibility for players and arrangers alike. As long as the arranger is true to the melody and chord changes, he or she has the freedom to bring in their own palette and put their own stamp on the tunes. This collaborative approach has worked  well with the recent material and I hope to continue on that path. In the process, I am still able to create some surprises, detours, interval clashes and time signature shenanigans. That is the joy of writing and why I continue to do it.

Each tune has its own story and springs from different experiences. The Speckled Frog is a journey of the imagination. Sometimes the trip is short. Other time the trip stretches out and goes to multiple destinations. The imagination follows its own course and sets its own boundaries. I hope you enjoy the journey!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page